Cooking / FAIR TRADE / FISH / HINTS & TIPS / MISCELLANEOUS / Organic / PASTA

TUNA AND TOMATO SAUCE LINGUINE

I tasted a tuna sandwich for the first time in high school; I must have been about 15 years old. Since then, there has always been canned tuna in our grocery cupboard.

I have always purchased canned tuna in brine. Four years ago my sister in law convinced me to try tuna in oil. I preferred it. It was moist and much more flavourful than tuna in brine. I also do prefer the solid or chunk variety. John West products are rather pricey at the moment due to the weak Rand. Where possible I do try to buy John West Tuna. Alternatively, I opt for the Woolworths or the Lucky Star tuna.

Since I discovered tuna I eat it whenever I can. One of my favourite ways to prepare tuna is with pasta.

My  Tuna and Tomato Sauce Linguine uses simple ingredients. This meal is perfect for long summer days when you want to spend minimal time in your kitchen.

Using quality ingredients is essential-your meals are always tastier. For this reason I have started using Zaytoun Olive Oil. This organic and fair trade product is produced in Palestine using Palestinian farmed olives. I do like the Zaytoun initiative; support Palestine through trade, not aid. However, you should not only purchase Zaytoun products because you want to support Palestine-purchase the products because they are organic, absolutely delicious and good for you.

image

When cooking with garlic I normally add the crushed garlic, along with my chopped onion and olive oil in a cold pan. With the heat on low, I gently saute the onion and garlic until lightly golden. This method prevents your garlic from scorching. Zaytoun Olive Oil is delicious, fruity and I love the colour of this oil. It has a higher viscosity than the brand I used to favour. I find that I need to use less oil in my meals since I changed to this brand. The fruity taste and perfume adds a gorgeous flavour and airoma to this meal. I am still astonished at how much better my food tastes because of Zaytoun Olive Oil.

image

I discovered Froggit Sauces, Reductions & Dressings at the 2012 Good Food and Wine Show. I went back this year JUST for Froggit. I used the Lemon Splash Vinegar Reduction to “dress” my dish. This reduction has a beautiful lemon flavour and is blended perfectly with ginger and chilli. The ginger and chilli notes add a welcomed heat after
the lemon freshness tantalises your tastebuds. This reduction heightens the flavour of this dish.

Froggit is in the process of obtaining halaal certification from SANHA. They have moved the production of certain products away from their kitchen and are currently revamping their facilities. The halaal accreditation process should be completed early in 2014.

image

We always have coriander (dhania) in our home. Dhania is a must-have in any Indian home. I do love chopping my herbs with my mezzaluna.

My Tuna and Tomato Sauce Linguine is must for tuna and pasta lovers.

TUNA AND TOMATO SAUCE LINGUINE
By Mariam Fakir
Serves 4 – 5

Ingredients:
3 tablespoons Zaytoun olive oil
1 tablespoon crushed garlic
1 medium onion, finely chopped or processed
4 medium tomatoes, deseeded and processed
2 tablespoons tomato puree/paste (the thick concentrated paste)
3 1/2 tablespoons fish sauce
1/2 teaspoon brown sugar
2 cans of tuna, drained
1 – 2 teaspoons crushed dried chilli
2 tablespoons Froggit Lemon Splash Vinegar Reduction
1/4 cup chopped coriander leaves
250g linguine

Method:
1. Add the olive oil to a large, heavy based pan. Saute the onion and garlic on a low heat until lightly golden.

2. Increase the heat to medium. Add the processed tomatoes and tomato puree. Cook for a few minutes. Add the fish sauce and sugar. Continue cooking on a medium heat until the sauce is thickened and no excess liquid remains.

3. Add the tuna. Stir through and set aside.

4. Boil the linguine until it is al dente. Retain 3/4 cup of the pasta liquid. Set this aside. Drain the pasta and toss in a tablespoon of Zaytoun Olive Oil.

5. Place the sauce back onto a medium heat. Add the 3/4 cup of pasta water. Stir through.

6. Toss the pasta in the sauce. Add the crushed dried chilli. Prior to serving toss the pasta in the Lemon Splash Vinegar Reduction and sprinkle with the chopped coriander.

image

Visit http://www.zaytoun.org.za to learn more this fair trade initiative and the products that are available. E-mail info@zaytoun.org.za to find your nearest stockist.
Please do like their Facebook page. http://www.facebook.com/zaytounsa?refid=46

To explore the flavourful world of froggit visit http://www.froggit.co.za. Stockists are listed on the site.

The Jamie Oliver mezzaluna is available at Boardmans.

Lots of love
Mariam

mariam.fakir1@gmail.com

One thought on “TUNA AND TOMATO SAUCE LINGUINE

Leave a comment