Cakes / Chocolate / Cupcakes / SNACKS & FINGER FOODS / Sweet / SWEET TREATS

YOUR RAINY DAY COMPANION

The weather in Joburg has been pretty grey over the past few days. So grey that you may find fifty shades of grey just by looking at the sky.

I reside in the wild, wild east of Joburg (trying to make the east sound important, so bear with me). So far east, that the drive to Eastgate sounds tiring enough to make me stay on the far side of the East Rand. The storms have been frighteningly beautiful…so beautiful that we found a tiny hole in the bathroom window the other day (mental note to place a piece of masking tape over the hole, just like an East Rander would do).

The other day…or night (can’t decide if it was day or night due to the greyness surrounding me), I was in need of pretty comforting. However, I also needed to make myself believe that my comfort snack was healthy.

I decided that I needed easy, healthy chocolate. Chocolate is made with cocoa beans. Cocoa beans are the seeds of the cocoa pod fruit. That means that chocolate is actually a fruit. Perfect, I was ready for my fruity treat.

I used my “perfect chocolate” cake batter and turned it into mini cupcakes. Mini cupakes bake for @ 15 minutes. Find the recipe here:
http://confessionsofanindiankitchen.com/2013/07/13/the-perfect-chocolate-cake/

I topped it with some some slightly sweetened whipped fresh cream. I needed to have some dairy so fresh cream was the perfect answer.

As indicated I needed some PRETTY comforting. I decided to prettify my hot chocolate glass.

This is what I did:

image

image

image

image

After my mini cupcakes were baked and ready for devouring I measured out 250ml of low fat milk (remember this is a healthy snack) added in 3 tablespoons of chopped dark chocolate and a teaspoon of hot chocolate powder. The chocolate melted and the milk turned turned into a deliciously creamy, chocolatey potion. As soon as the chocolate potion was brought to a boil, it was poured into my prettified glass and voila my PRETTY COMFORT snack was ready to satisfy my belly.

image

image

Lots of comforting fruity love
Mariam

Ps: The East Rand humour is entirely harmless

mariam.fakir1@gmail.com

Leave a comment