Cakes / CELEBRATION / Chocolate / Cupcakes / Desserts / MISCELLANEOUS / SNACKS & FINGER FOODS / Sweet / SWEET TREATS / THEMED MEALS

THE SWEETEST DESSERT TABLE

A few months ago I was comissioned by a loving mother in law to bake a baby shower cake for her soon to be born grandson. Bella wanted a beautiful cake with cupcakes which would nake the baby shower extra special.(Pictures thereof will appear in a seperate post)

Her daughter in law, Chantelle, contacted me a few weeks ago. She was planning a joint function; her son’s Christening as well as her husband’s birthday. In keeping with my religious beliefs (no figurenes) I carefully planned a cake for her son as well as cupcakes for husband. Chantelle was clear – she wanted something different and delicious.

Chantelle wanted a delicious carrot cake, chocolate cupcakes and some bite sized treats. I chose to make homemade marshmallows as well as some coconut macaroons for her bite sized treats.

The cupcakes would appear on the same dessert table but had to be in a different style to the cake as they were meant for Chantelle’s husband’s birthday. I decided to create the ultimate chocolate cupcake.

image

These cupcakes were baked using my Perfect Chocolate Cake batter (the recipe is on this blog) and topped with a chocolate macaron truffle. These moulds are available for purchase. Should you wish to enquire about these moulds kindly do contact me via e-mail.

The recipe I’m going to share with you is my Ultimate CARROT CAKE.

image

This picture of the carrot cake is courtesy of Chantelle. The rabbits and chocolates were supplied by the client.

Whenever I’ve been served carrot cake at coffee shops, I’ve encountered hard, dark cake filled with raisins. Now don’t get me wrong. I like raisins, but not copious amounts of it. It’s no secret that I LOVE chocolate. However, this carrot cake is in a league of it’s own; in many instances even surpassing my beloved chocolate cake.

I came across an internet recipe a few years back. I tweaked it to my liking. The recipe barely resembles the original recipe. It’s soft, delicious and is a beautiful colour and is simply sublime.

This carrot cake is better than good. It is the ultimate carrot cake…well my ultimate carrot cake.

THE ULTIMATE CARROT CAKE

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups cake flour, sifted
2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
3 extra large eggs
1 cup castor sugar
1 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup oil
3/4 cup buttermilk
2 teaspoons of vanilla extract. (I like to use the seeds of 1 vanilla pod and add a teaspoon of buttermilk)
2 1/4 cups finely grated carrots
240g canned crushed pineapple, drained
1 1/4 cup dessicated coconut
1 cup chopped pecans

Method:
1. Preheat your oven to 175 degrees celsius or to 160 degrees celsius for a fan forced oven.
2. Line two 9 inch (23cm) round cake pans. The pans needs to be at least 7.5cm high. Set the pans aside.
3. Sift the dry ingredients together.
4. Using a hand held electric beater beat the liquid ingredients & sugar together.
5. Add the sifted flour mixture, a small amount at a time beating at low speed until blended.
6. Fold in the carrots and the remainder of the ingredients using a spatula. Remember to scrape the bottom of the bowl.
7. Pour the batter into prepared cake pans.
8. Bake for 30-35 minutes of until the cake is baked. Use a wooden skewer to test.

image

My contribution to Chantelle’s dessert table.

Lots of love
Mariam

mariam.fakir1@gmail.com

Leave a comment